My New Reality

Wow…OK…Yeah…But…Yeah…  Those are just some of the abbreviated thoughts that have been circling through my head over and over again the last few weeks. To go into detail about all of them would take longer than I have here and, I daresay, more than you would want to read. Let’s just say that my mind has been working overtime trying to figure out my new reality. My new reality is that things in our family will not be the same as it was, ever again. No, I am not being overly dramatic, but it is a weird thing to digest. Andy is working in another city and will be for the foreseeable future; Justin is entering his senior year of high school and will be off to college. All this put together means that,with the exception of some weekends and a possible week or 2 at a time, our family will not be living together full-time again.  Wow…OK…Yeah…But…Yeah…  Add on to that all of the normal day-to-day stuff involved with life and you get the picture; you get a glimpse into my new reality — one that I haven’t quite figured out yet.

I could tell you that I am perfectly content and happy about everything going on because it is the best thing for the family, but that would not be true; there are some things that stink about this arrangement. I could also tell you that this is the absolute worse thing we could ever have to do, but that too is a lie. The truth  of my new reality falls somewhere in the middle; as with every situation, there are positives and negatives. My choice comes in how I deal with both. Do I wallow in self-pity and woe or do I move on and navigate the waters where I am?  Do I pretend that everything is just perfect and nothing is bad or do I look at the situation from a balanced perspective? While I have chosen to navigate these waters with a balance perspective, some days are more challenging than others. The best thing I can do for my family is to acknowledge that while this is a difficult period for us, it is the best thing for the family.

The past several weeks have been nothing if not interesting; the good news in all of this is that I not only have a King Size bed and full walk in closet to myself, but my computer desk has never been neater! Hmmm…maybe this won’t be so bad after all. (see — only some of the positives I mentioned!)

Let’s see what’s next…Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

